Just around the corner.

Things are frustrating on the painting front. I’m feeling stuck between playing it safe and taking risks. When I take risks, I don’t necessarily like what’s happening with the painting. That bugs me. When I play it safe, I wonder if this is all I’ve got. That bugs me.

And yet, I know that when I reach this stage, feeling like I’m being pulled in many ways but not sure what to do, something good is around the corner. I wish I knew what it was. I know that it’s there. I just have to push through the hard part and keep going.

In the meantime, I am also feeling really grateful for many things, especially after this weekend. Life’s pretty darn good.

 

12 thoughts on “Just around the corner.

  1. Jamie

    Great post. I know exactly what you are talking about Belinda.

    For me I try and do the work I have to do (the safe stuff), and at another scheduled time (give myself 2 hours each session) to play with the risky stuff. I find the 2 hour increments best as I don’t get too bored or frustrated, AND if I discover something cool happening, I can’t wait to get back to it for another 2 hours, another day.

    I consider it process and to get something new, I know I must go through all of the ugly stages of process development to get to the other side. It is a pain to put in the time, but that’s the only thing that will get us there.

    I know you know all of this. But just thought I’d remind us. :)

    Jamie

    Reply
    1. belknits Post author

      Fantastic response, Jamie. I find the hard part is to stick out during that time – when I get frustrated I just want to go find a snack! I have to stick with it, and keep going. Thanks for the reminder.

      Reply
      1. Jamie

        Ya I hear ya about the snacking lol. Well try the shorter time spans and see how you do. Also I have started to reread The Artists Way by Julia Cameron. Some great hints in there, even about the snacking.

        Jme

  2. Joa Stenning

    I love this piece!! The colors are wonderful, and the sentiment is just lovely.

    Also, I’ve noticed that you’ve taken great photos of your work in each of your blog posts. Do you have any tips or tricks for photographing your work? I have some rather large pieces that just do not want to cooperate no matter how I try.

    Anyway, keep on keeping on! I totally agree that the process can be frustrating, but it seems like you’re getting some great work out of it.

    Reply
    1. belknits Post author

      Hi Joa! Thanks for your comments! Wow – no one has ever complimented me on my photography. Nice to know that it is looking good! I use my kitchen table and white paper for under the painting and as a reflective surface beside the painting (reflecting the light coming in the window). I don’t use direct sunlight, but I usually photograph when it’s sunny or a bit overcast, during mid-day. When there is snow on the ground it’s nice and bright! For large pieces, I take them outside and photograph them on a white sheet taped to my house! I am using a point and shoot, but use the manual setting and adjust for the white background, no flash. Once the photos are on the computer, I adjust for brightness and get the color as close to the original using iPhoto. I have never needed any software fancier than that, yet. Hope that helps!

      Reply
  3. Ry Pepper

    This I can relate to: “I’m feeling stuck between playing it safe and taking risks.”

    I love the piece and the message. Love love love. This is the first time I’ve visited your blog and I WILL be back! Thank you!

    Reply
      1. Ry Pepper

        Run and hide? haha. Honestly, I try really hard to force myself to go out and walk. Find somewhere new, or something new about somewhere old. Take my camera. Or even just my phone so I can feel more on the fly.

        If I didn’t get out, I’d end up staring at a wall.

Leave a Reply

